thatphotographydame

Just another WordPress.com site

So, You Wanna Be A Photographer? Part 2

I’ve been searching my brain looking for what exactly I should put in this post and, to be honest, I’ve been at a loss! I started thinking back to when I first started in photography and thinking about all the stuff I wish I had known back then that I know now…

That was painful! I knew so little back then and have learned so much! It is a list about 50 miles long! So, I decided on this:

How To Find YOU In Your Photography!

This may sound odd to some but, it is very important to find you, to find your signature, your eye, your mark, that thing that makes your work… Yours!

I can look back on a photo I took 10 years ago and know instantly that it is mine, even though I have taken probably 100’s of thousands of photos… Because I can always see what it was I originally saw when I took the shot!

As a photographer, you have an unique ‘eye’ a vision that only you see… Here is an example:

Take a look at this snapshot (I’ll explain the difference between pics, photos and snapshots at the end of this post), what do you see? Some would see an old building that should have been torn down a long time ago. Some will see a specific era of architecture that is now destroyed. Others will see just a building. And you will see something completely different from what I see…

I will briefly explain what I see here… I see a beautiful expression of mother nature taking back a building that has long been empty… A building that has stories to tell, memories wrapped up in it’s walls and events that have probably been forgotten… I see a place that someone once loved and that someone once cared about, a place that someone tells stories about… And I would love to hear those stories!

Here is a ‘visual’ representation (photograph) of what I see:

Get it? I hope so!

You have to figure out what it is that separates you from every other photographer out there… I can always see the element that made me point my camera…

Find your ‘eye’ and have fun!!!

Definitions: These are MY definitions on how I differentiate between these items…

Pic: a quickly taken picture with a phone, point and shoot, or any image capture device that is usually low quality and not print worthy.

Photo: a picture taken with intended further use, editing, reference, etc. Usually not print worthy but has potential.

Snapshot: any picture taken with any intended use other than instant printing.

Photograph: a finished picture, either through editing or great skill in initial capture that is print worthy and considered ‘finished’.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “So, You Wanna Be A Photographer? Part 2

  1. ah u put that into words very well – the part about seeing something and then visioning something else for ur photograph – thats what i try to explain too in one of my blogs posts but i dont think i nailed it exactly. haha. good to know some people share my views 🙂

Leave a Reply

