thatphotographydame

Just another WordPress.com site

That Dame’s Thoughts…

Over the years, too many to count, I have always noticed one constant when it comes to a photo shoot – inconsistancy! Nothing ever goes EXACTLY as planned! A lot of times this can be frustrating… From lighting issues to battery malfunctions to improper settings to backdrop failures to missing equipment to even model issues, always keep one thing in mind… Sometimes, it happens for a reason! I have done several shoots where the thing that ‘went wrong’ is actually what went RIGHT! You usually don’t realize this until after you have had a nervous break-down, dismissed the shoot as a failure, and get to the reviewing of your shots on your computer… You may still have dozens of not so great shots but then you find *that one*… The perfect shot! That photo that makes it all worth it! My point here? Don’t give up! I can’t count how many times I’ve ‘thrown the towel in’ and then found that one photo that reminds me of why I am a photographer… That photo that I look back to when I start doubting myself… And I want to keep doing what I love, even with the nervous break-downs! So, later this evening, I would like to share a couple of photo shoots that fit this blog’s idea… Hopefully, you will see what I mean!

Here is THAT PHOTO from a shoot:

Here are a couple that came from the same chaotic shoot that my lights were not wanting to do as I wanted and I was fighting natural light and stubborn subjects (my fiance and his friends) LOL

As you can see, my lighting was not what I was really going for…

Here is THAT PHOTO’s original:

Notice the above photo is still not what I was going for but… I could see the final product in my mind’s eye and knew that with editing, I could achieve the goal I wanted…

This is a simple example of what I have been referring to in this blog… I will post another blog soon with a more detailed and more extreme example!

Just keep in mind, you may not get the shot you want right off the rip but, with persistence and, sometime’s a good amount of editing, you can still salvage a not so great shoot!

Keep shooting, keep looking for THAT SHOT and you will always find it, somehow…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

